“Who would’ve thought that [I] would be the sort of psychologist or uncle or advisor to an 18- or 17-year-old Indian American girl going through high school,” McEnroe said in a recent interview with Entertainment Tonight. “So I got to credit Mindy Kaling.” The decision to cast McEnroe in her semi-autobiographical series was a nostalgic one for Kaling, who grew up in a tennis-loving household. “It turned out her father was a big tennis fan and must’ve talked about me a lot when she was growing up,” he said. “He was in India and it’s sort of her story.”

But while Kaling had known about McEnroe for her entire life, he couldn’t say the same about her. McEnroe revealed that he had never even heard of the former star of “The Office” until she approached him about the show. Related Mindy Kaling Will Receive the 2023 Norman Lear Award from the Producers Guild ‘The Sex Lives of College Girls’ Season 2 Trailer: Mindy Kaling’s Series Takes a ‘Magic Mike’ Turn Related The 13 Best Slasher Movies Ever Made, from ‘Candyman’ to ‘Psycho’ 17 HBO and HBO Max Original Series to Get Excited About in 2023
“I met her at this Vanity Fair Oscar party and we were just crossing paths and [his wife] Patty goes, ‘Oh, that’s Mindy Kaling!’” he said. “I wasn’t even sure who it was then and she’s like, ‘Oh my god, I have this idea of you narrating this show,’ and I’m like, ‘Oh yeah, yeah, sure you do. Of course I’m gonna narrate this show.’ And then, hey, it actually—this is actually working!” Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.