“Morbius” is based on the Marvel Comics series of the same name by Roy Thomas. In the comics, Leto’s Michael Morbius is a scientist suffering from a rare blood disease whose attempts to find a cure result in him acquiring the powers of a vampire. The supporting cast includes Adria Arjona, Matt Smith, Jared Harris, and Tyrese Gibson. “Morbius” is the latest directorial effort from Daniel Espinoza, who last directed Jake Gyllenhaal and Ryan Reynolds in the space thriller “Life.” He also directed “Child 44” and “Safe House.”

The movie hopes to continue the success of this year’s “Venom: Let There Be Carnage,” a success in any box office climate but particularly in a pandemic one with nearly $400 million worldwide. Also featured in “Morbius” is Michael Keaton, who reprises his “Spider-Man: Homecoming” role of Vulture. When the filmmakers spoke to Keaton and attempted to detail the fictional universe of “Morbius” using other Marvel plot points, Keaton admitted to being unable to parse it. “I’m nodding like I know what the fuck they’re talking about,” Keaton said. “I go, ‘Uh-huh.’ And I’m thinking, ‘You may as well be explaining quantum physics right now to me. All I know is I just know my guy. And I know the basics.’ So finally, they were looking at me, and they just started laughing. They said, ‘You don’t know what we’re talking about, do you?’ I said, ‘No, I don’t, no idea what you’re talking about.’“

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.