“When David O. Russell talked about doing ‘The Fighter,’ he was over himself and over being the auteur,” Tarantino said. “He just wanted to make a good movie that people are going to enjoy. There was something really refreshing about him saying that, and that perspective. If I just wanted to make a good movie, that I knew would be good, I would take David Morrell’s novel for ‘First Blood’ and do the novel. Not the movie that was made out of ‘First Blood.’ I would do the novel.”

Tarantino continued, “Kurt Russell would play the sheriff, and [Adam Driver] would play Rambo. Every time I read it, the dialogue is so fantastic in the David Morrell novel that you’re reading it out loud. It would be so good. But now I want to do more than that. But if it was just about to make a good movie, that’s out there.” It appears Tarantino wants something more challenging than just a slam-dunk good movie like “First Blood” for his final feature. The director revealed at the end of June that he briefly considered making his last movie a “Reservoir Dogs” reboot. Tarantino promised fans he would not be rebooting his feature directorial debut, but it could find life on the stage. “I’ve decided if I wanted to do something like [a ‘Reservoir Dogs’ reboot], I would do it more on stage. I think that would be cool,” Tarantino told ReelBlend podcast in July. “It’d be a great stage play. My thought process was, ‘Well, if it’s a strong piece of material, it would work doing it any time.’ It does seem timeless. And then just with a new group of actors, that would have a new life.” Tarantino continued, “It would also have a new life by the fact that I didn’t really know what the hell I was doing when I did ‘Reservoir Dogs.’ And now I know what I’m doing a little bit more…I think I was thinking at the time when I was considering doing it as a movie, making it an all-Black cast. That’s what I think would have been my twist on it, as far as making it a different movie.” With “First Blood” out of the running, Tarantino fans will have to keep waiting to find out what his last directorial effort will be. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.