“I ended up turning a three-page battle scene into a 9-minute battle scene because I was just that excited to be bringing Boba back,” Rodriguez said in the Disney+ documentary about the making of “The Mandalorian” Season 2 (now streaming). “I told [Favreau], ‘I’ve been waiting to see this version of Boba Fett since I was a kid. Boba has to be different, he can’t just seem like another Mando. He has to move differently, feel different, occupy a completely different space and have a weight and gravitas to him that shows why he’s such a legend.’ I wanted him to live up to his name that we would whisper since we were kids [and] be that mysterious character with a past that makes you want to know more about him. If Mando is a gunslinger, then Boba needs to be a barbarian.”

“To illustrate what i was talking about, I took my Boba Fett and Stormtrooper Halloween costumes and put them on my sons and went into the backyard and filmed Boba’s arrival,” Rodriguez continued. “Since I didn’t have stuntmen at my disposal, I used my ‘Star Wars” action figures because a picture is worth 1,000 words and helped me communicate what I was going for with the crew.” Footage of Rodriguez’s Boba Fett home video is included in the Disney+ documentary and shows how low-fi VFX were added so the DIY project could feature laser beams, explosions, and more. When Filoni saw the home movie, he asked Rodriguez, “Wait a minute, were those just action figures I saw?” Rodriguez responded, “Well, yeah, I didn’t have anything else on hand.” Filoni said, “No, you don’t understand, that makes it the coolest animatic ever.” That’s when Rodriguez knew he found a home at “Star Wars.” Rodriguez’s “Mandalorian” episode is now streaming on Disney+. The upcoming Boba Fett series, officially titled “The Book of Boba Fett,” will begin streaming in December 2021. Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.